NYC Mental Map

Posted: September 15, 2013 in hand-drawn map, seven in seven
Tags: ,

nyc-mental-map-small

>link to high-res

For day five of the 7 in 7 project I drew a mental map of NYC depicting my limited knowledge of the city’s geography. A mental map visualizes a unique perspective from the person who draws it; places of importance, routes traveled, known and unknown areas, and perhaps most importantly how they feel about their geographic location(s). For example in my map I depict parks and a “Beach Land” area in the Rockaways which is telling of how public lands and open space are of importance to me. I filled a lot of unknown areas of Brooklyn and Queens with question marks, these are areas I’ve yet to venture to and know little about on a personal level.

Leave a Reply

